EgyptAir Flight From Paris To Cairo Goes Missing With 69 People On Board

An EgyptAir flight from Paris to Cairo has disappeared from radar, according to the Egyptian airline. It stated on its Twitter page that the flight departed the French capital late Wednesday night around 23:09 CEST (21:09 GMT).

According to the BBC, there were 59 passengers and 10 crew members on board the flight MS804 at the time of departure from Paris.

While the airliner has promised further updates as soon as information becomes available, the BBC further reports that the aircraft was flying at 37,000ft (11,300m) when it went missing over the eastern Mediterranean.

An official reportedly said the plane lost contact with the radar at 02:45 Cairo time (00:45 GMT), and the airline confirmed via Twitter that the necessary inspection had commenced.